Close
X

You need to login first

Close
Connect Facebook with tossdown.com
Close

All reports are strictly confidential. What best describes this?

Spam or scam

Contains hate speech or attacks an individual

Violence or harmful behavior

Sexually explicit content

Close

Add a Restaurant

Close
Add a tip
Restaurant/Eatout
Tip
Close


Reviews

NBg Posted a Review of Jack The Rebel
6.5

Jack, The Burger Love!!!

Jack the Rebel!! Always gave an impression of being some franchise of an international chain but it took me by surprise when I was told that its a local venture. On visiting the place for the first time, months ago, made me question again about it being a local burger joint?!!, as even the look, ambiance and overall standard felt totally compatible to that of Internationals. On reaching the counter to place our order, I immediately noticed the cleanliness of their open kitchen first- tidy and organised! Then the menu caught my eyes finally, very precise, not too lengthy, not too small! Good range of beef burgers and chicken sandwiches, options in fries, fried crispy chicken and several entrees of rice with chicken/beef, for the ones not in the mood of big meals. Oh and not to forget, a mini menu for the Little Rebels :) Ordering was made easy by the helpful staff suggesting their best, when told our preference being Beef. From La Bomba to Jalepeno Rebellion to Southern Battalion BBQ Beef Burger, we have tried almost all the recommended ones and each with its uniqueness, was flavourful, succulent and absolutely delicious. The freshly baked buns held all the fillings in-place, which is a plus as most of the burger places, experiment with the patties and over-look the quality of the buns. The patty itself was just the right size, the thin slices loose the juices and become dry while the thick ones are usually under-cooked from the centre, hence I loved how perfect their patty was sized. La Bomba being my husbands favourite is always ordered, which has double patty, yet totally digestible, while I usually experiment with the menu and have never been disappointed. When in the mood for spicy, Jalepeno Rebellion is too good, hot yet not over-powering the taste of other ingredients. Southern Battalion is great, with an addition of BBQ flavour and a battered Onion Ring. Love them all. With sooo many Burger joints budding in Lahore over the past couple of years and trying out almost all of them since burger is a favourite fast food of my partner... One thing I honestly wanna declare is that, NONE of those places was ever given a second visit, even though couple of others werent bad either but Jack the Rebel, totally won us. Good value for money, spick n span seatings, great food are few positive attributes of this place, which other places can qualify upto maybe but what makes it so special here, is how they are consistent with what they deliver to their customers!!! Thumbs-Up!

Likes - 7 Comments 3 years 9 months ago
  • NBg

    Ya i believe in a food website too. Forums on facebook show reviews but they come in n go.. U cant find them when u need to know about a place.

    3 years 9 months ago
  • NBg

    V shud encourage our frenz n family to use website instead

    3 years 9 months ago
  • jkbutt

    actually there are some 20000 members on forums so it means 20000 taste buds thats why sometimes the most below ordinary places are hyped like anything food should be complete package quality taste and pricing

    3 years 9 months ago
NBg Posted a Review of BoneHeads
6.5

Boneheads- Well almost!!!

Another in-line, offering Portuguese Chicken after Nandos and Barcelos, is in town, Boneheads!!! Apparently, its their first International franchise, coming from the U.S. with a combo of Portuguese and SouthAfrican cuisine in a variety of ways, with a plus though, they have other proteins to offer!!! A decent range of Sea-food!!! OK I heard great stuff about Boneheads from the most authetic source for me, my very own foodie husband!!! So, I cudnt wait to get here soonest. Getting real and sharing my OWN experience now, AAAHHH NoT a memory to hold on to! We ordered, Half Chicken meal with two sides- Rice and Brocolli. Hungry as I was after an afternoon shopping spree, I cudnt help but be more observant about my surroundings to divert attention from food and found out quite a few seating flaws here and there, even though, over all the ambience was spacious and clean!!! Ordered a bottle of mineral water in the meantime which came in after the food was served on the table, that too with just ONE glass for TWO of us :) The chicken seemed succulent- quite tempting. Took my piece with broccoli and a bit of rice. Starting off with Broccoli, being my fav vegetable I really liked it slightly steamed, while dipping in their delicious lemon and herb sauce. Even though my husband kept saying, it was better when he had it earlier, sauteed! Rice- tasted and looked alike, Desi! Personally, dint like how they tasted a bad version of pulao! Finally,the chicken! Great stuff! Well marinated, fresh, juicy! Ordered Mild/Medium spice level but I dint expect it to b THIS mild. From Nandos experience, their Mild did have a hint of spice. But nonetheless, Learnt it for the next time, would have to order Hot spice level here. On the other hand, my husbandz chicken piece was cold and tasted weird too. On complaining, the waiter offered RE-heating for us. Now thats something too unprofessional to ask ur customer. Why wud a freshly made piece be cold in the first place? Was it re-heated and served earlier too? Is that Y it remained cold inside and just warm outside? That was disturbing and the waiter sensed our distress and offered a new meal. Moments later, the waiter came in to ask if he could serve leg piece this time and not breast piece as it takes longer to cook that!!! Huh??? But what if v dont prefer leg piece? Anyways, he went away n got us a fresh breast piece along with rice. Trust me, breast piece dint take too long, he shudnt have really offered the leg piece based on his lame reasoning!!! It was a perfect piece of chicken this time. Flawless! We were served complimentary, their special seasonal Mango Salsa, was refreshing. Then came in the bill, oh boy v were shocked as it was 2500plus for half chicken n a bottle of water??? Seemed impossible as it was meant to b a good budget place seeing the menu. Before v could say anything, the waiter came to us himself and asked us to return the bill as he too thought there was something wrong in the calculations. Just tooo many mistakes by the untrained staff that it felt funny by the end, dint make us angry anymore. Guess v got immune to the constant pain mere eating-out experience gave us!!! I believe things can get better if they cut-down on their staff and train them first.

Likes - 1 Comments 3 years 9 months ago
  • Zaheer017_8426

    I love their honey mustard sauce and chicken. Yes they have flaws but their taste is good and different from nandos

    3 years 9 months ago
NBg Posted a Review of Cone Heads Pakistan
9.0

The Real Burger "King"!!!

With all the positive reviews about this place, specially coming from my better-half who is a total Burger-holic and masters in every sort of Beef patty on the grill :) I cudn't wait to have one asap. So tonights dinner,it was at Cones Head! A nice, simple, tidy place. Nothing extra-ordinary to it, therefore, making it alot more relatable. Loved being casual and messy while eating hence. The menu isn't too complicated. Just consists of a range of French-fries, Chicken Burgers, Beef Burgers and to gulp down all that with ease, the usual fizzy drinks! Nothing fancy. We Instantly chose our Beef Burgers. FireBull Burger and Loaded Burger. However, the Chipoholic section was quite tempting and we took some time to choose. Nice of them to let us try the sauces before we ordered our desired topping on Fries. We picked Garlic Mayo, which generally goes best with the fries. After ordering, picking ourselves a nice corner to sit, appreciating how busy the counter was after we came in, getting amused by the flames raising in the open kitchen, the wait didnt seem long. Fries were served soon. A generous sized cone over flowing with the fresh, crispy golden potato sticks with a sauce holder attached was great and even better was the idea of small holes in the table to hold the cones. I instantly fell in love with the chips. Just the right hint of salt in their taste with the creamy Garlic Mayo was awesome. I feel they were better than OPTPs, trust me. My new savoury addiction! Now the Burgers. Mine was FireBull. Havent had a better burger in agesss. Its amaZing how the similar ingredients turn out different in burgers everywhere, with minor variations in merely the ratio of spices and flavourings. Fresh soft buns were a plus since most of burger joints these days pay no attention on baking the buns right or even bothering to bake them fresh everyday. Totally loved my meal. Cant really tell what was magical about my Burger but it was soooo good that a person like me who leaves every meal half-way, took no time to clean up the tray. Oh and for such great taste, the prices are superb! Awesome deals. This place is one of the greatest discoveries of all-times I believe, just ahead of Columbus discovering America :P

Likes - 0 Comments 3 years 5 months ago
NBg Posted a Review of Andersens Icecream
9.0

Mr. Andersen With Dairy products From Australia, Chocolate From Belgium, Flavours From Denmark.. now in Lahore!

Post-dinner sweet craving is unbearable for my husband and I. Since I couldn't manage to put-together any dessert last night after a tiring shopping spree during the afternoon, we HAD to go out. Andersens Ice-cream was a name buzzing in my head for quite sometime, whenever there was a sweet-call around me. Though my partner was a bit hesitant with the idea and wanted to play safe and head towards the ever-so-favourite, HotSpot, we did end up going to the new ice-cream place since we were driving in its vicinity. For the location, it's not very cool. Hard to spot somehow. It's almost at the corner, when u come towards Mini Market from Main Boulevard, crossing Generation, Decor, few Cane shops, right beside Sufi. The entrance seemed quite narrow due to which I always thought of it as a mini take-away sort of ice-cream parlour. But taking a few steps into the petite yet attractive red and white cell, we were lead to a wonderful, spacious seating area. It was QUITE big as compared to what its impression was from outside. A nice, simple yet trendy decor-Chic! Turning our focus to the colourful array of ice-creams, aah! A view of heaven it was to me :) Around 40 flavours of ice-creams from the classic range of chocolate, vanillas to the tangy fruity ones, all seemed amazing. Got to try half a dozen flavours by the help of the courteous staff and chose a couple to be scooped in their speciality options. I opted for Banana Split with Callebaut Chocolate and Mango Raspberry as my two picks of scoops. My husband decided to try a Chocolate Brownie from their selected range of bakery items. Shortly our order was brought to our table. Beautiful presentation of Banana Split, I must say. Tasted as good! The ice-creams were extremely creamy in texture and flavours were rich, sharp-yummmyyyyy! The cone was fresh, crispy and tasty. Perfect! Totally loved every bite. Brownie too was great. For the prices, not Bad! Competitive to Hotspot. Banana Split for approx. Rs. 400. Per scoop, Rs. 165. Seems to me, a promising new addition but gotta wait for summers to really identify where it stands. Definitely going back to try their coffee next!

Likes - 0 Comments 3 years 5 months ago
NBg Posted a Review of DKF - Doner Kebab Factory
8.5

Turkish Shawerma-Doner Kebab

I'm totally in love with Doner Kebabs and i'm so glad they have come down to this part of the world too. So so meatilicious! For now we have several places serving doners kebabs and im pretty sure Lahorites are loving it. For those who don't know much about this scrumptious thing, Doner kebab originated from Turkey but is put together differently in various other parts of the world with their regional variations. Mainly consisting of meat cooked on rotisserie, be it lamb, beef, veal or chicken served in the form of wrap, sandwich etc. with salad, sauces and other preferred options. In our local market, I had a chance of trying it out at two places for now and loved at each. Doner Kebab Factory, is where it started from in Lahore i believe. It's a small take-away joint near Hussain Chowk beside Raja Sahab. I tried it several months ago and totally fell in love.We had, Chipas Durum and Chipas Fladen. Both has similar filling I guess just stuffed in different ways. Durum is the wrap, meat, salad, french fries rolled in thin bread, like our Paki chapati while Fladen being a flat/pressed sesame Bun. Also, as per the order taker, Chipas refers to the optional addition of french fries, though I have not yet found out that 'chipas' is synonyms to 'chips' in any language :S Anyways,Chicken is the only option DKF offers for now so thats what our doner kebabs were made of. Thin, generous slices of chicken, tender, juicy and flavourful with fresh salad, french fries and good amount of sauces. Delicious combo! Ok so what makes it an healthier option is the fact that doner kebab is ideally layered in the sandwich with yogurt and not mayonnaise when v refer to the sauce in it and thats what I was secretly waiting to check in DKFs version ... FULL points, they DID use yogurt. Yes, yogurt with a seasoning of mild spices is what gives it flavour and moist with a little tomato paste for the tangy hint. Loved it! Highly recommended, on-the-go,when ure in the mood of casual munching. Light on the pocket and on the stomach, but really heavy on taste buds for people who are not always looking for spice fierceness in their meal :) Although, I really hope DKF extend their menu with other meat options since I don't actually prefer chicken in my meal. Nonetheless, um gratified such informal yet appetizing food options r pouring in the country from around the world. We do need variety on the streets too-Take-away sorts of foreign cuisines, not just fine-dine places flaunting Japanese, Mexican, Thai etc. as something beyond reach of a common man in Pakistan.

Likes - 3 Comments 4 years 9 months ago
  • shahroze

    Doner kebab in defence is in a league of its own.... Nice review though The last time i tried this they did not add chipas and it was dry

    4 years 9 months ago
  • naqi74

    guys please explain locations of both outlets.

    4 years 9 months ago
  • Asadamin

    first is in near Hussain Chowk Liberty. Just before Hussain Chowk there is Raja Sahib and there is small cabin type vendor. i tried it but as per my taste buds i do not like it. Other place is in DHA in front of Mcdonalds and sheeba park. too much expensive. they would not give you tender pieces of chicken or lamb but very thin slices of dry meat or chicken which are not juicy and shawarma would be of Rs 650 without drinks and fries. In liberty you would get shawarma for Rs 180

    4 years 9 months ago
NBg Posted a Review of Jazz Cafe and Grill
8.5

Debut with Desserts

The budding of new restaurants/cafes in Lahore is unstoppable, it seems. But good for us foodies, vre never short of options here. Jazz, I heard of it online somewhere and passing by it in an afternoon during Ramadan, this place caught our attention. The twin eat-outs, Tokyo (the Japanese cuisine) and Jazz ( the Grill and Cafe), off M.M.Alam road, apparently were cozy, appealing and fresh. Since then it was on our hit-list. After having iftar elsewhere a week later, the urge of having some dessert post a disastrous main meal, drove us to Jazz without a second thought. Wow, the first look, the instant feel, the warm aura- everything seemed just RIGHT! A very classic English touch to the place. And from the first moment, it gave a positive vibe about the food too. As soon as v were seated, we wished we hadnt had the main-course elsewhere, GOSH! Y dint we think of Jazz earlier! ???? The menu wasn't the long novel-like, but had almost every popular option in a precise manner. Selective! Passing all the tempting entrees, we focused on the desserts, which were limited too, hence making it easy for us to choose from. We ordered, Molten Lava cake with ice-cream and Bread Pudding with Ice-cream. Also, two cups of tea. Shortly then, were served a basket of warms assorted buns and likes with butter. We were too stuffed and tried to ignore it on the table, but the aroma raised by the freshly baked gems was mesmerising and I cudnt help but pick one. Quite good, I must say. Came in pretty soon the two gigantic dishes of sweet-course. OMG! I bet there cant be a bigger plate in a crockery-set in any house-hold. Customised to scare??? o.O The serving of both warm and tempting desserts too was huge, even for someone like me who has a sweet-tooth, the sight was getting nauseous. If only we assumed, v wudve ordered one for three of us. OK, the first bite of the Molten Lava cake with melted chocolate oozing out generously, was great. One of the best in town I guess. On a second thought, few extra seconds in the oven, could've baked it to the ideal extend. About Bread Pudding, I was alot more excited. Very enticing! It tasted quite reasonable too. I want to rate it better but the problem i feel was the portion of the bread piece maybe. If only it was a little smaller, it couldve been baked well till the centre. Yes, the mid seemed somewhat under-baked. But none the less, the sweetness of the caramel sauce on it and the delicious Vanilla ice-cream(home-made I believe), was making us ignore the slight flaw, and at least I thoroughly enjoyed the medley of warm and cold sweetness in my mouth. I hope they take care of these minor things in future and have me on their list of faithful customers then, because Im really hooked to this place for an unknown reason :) The prices for the dessert r comparatively at the higher side. Rest of the menu seemed justified. Heard some great stuff about their hi-tea menu as well. Um sure they'll be doing great. Soon, that too InshAllah!

Likes - 2 Comments 4 years 9 months ago
  • Asadamin

    excellent detailed review.

    4 years 9 months ago
  • NBg

    Thank u :)

    4 years 9 months ago
NBg Posted a Review of Barcelos Pakistan
8.0

The New 'Chick' in Town!

As the blessed month of Ramadan is coming to an end with all its glory while the summer heat continues with a promise to never end, I could only wish to find an escape from the kitchen for atleast Once this month since my ability to decide the daily iftar menu was collapsing and I ended up putting it on repeat mode now, I finally got a chance to relax with my sister. We decided to eat-out but leave after breaking fast and praying at home, in order to avoid the madness that takes-over the town as the sun begins to set during the entire month of Ramadan. We did know exactly where to head but by the time we reached our fav spot, the desired whole chicken was finished and we were too hungry to compromise on their tea-time snack menu, hence left. Much to our charming luck, "Barcelos" had just opened their doors for Lahorites and it stood there right in front of our eyes, inviting and saving us like one of those super-heroes in every other Hollywood movie these days who come to SAVE Amreeka in every shape,size and power. Errr and this time it was the "Good-Looking Red Chick" ;) Excited. We were welcomed and escorted to our table very warmly. The place felt, looked and smelled just GREAT! (Not to forget the ideal location they managed to get a hold-on) Firstly, like us, I know most of the people would begin to compare it with Nandos, being the similar Portuguese theme offering Flame Grilled Chicken in a variety of ways. But I would like us all to let go of the comparison to begin-with and let the place stand-out making an individual mark. Anyways, we ordered Peri Peri Hummus with Pita Bread as a starter followed by the Half-chicken meal deal which included a side-line and a drink. Also, just to extend our order for trial purpose, we ordered a Peri Peri Wrap as well. Admiring the spacious feel and a cozy theme, we were soon presented the starter. I must say, I havent had better Hummus in Lahore. Sooo light and creamy. The Pita bread along-side MY God, it cudnt have been better. So soft and warm, it was literally melting in the mouth. The taste itself, without evening dipping in Hummus was suuperb. As much I intended to avoid the starter in order to save my appetite for main-course, I realised it was the most appetising thing on the table even after the Meal Deal came in along with the Wrap. I'd wanna be a little candid here, though, I know every new place has challenges and an exclusive taste to offer, but for the good of the restaurant itself, as I really really want it to stay, please guys, work on the quality of chicken you get. I mean the seasoning used and the garnish of coriander which gave a little desi look and taste can be understood as the individual taste your kitchen offers, but it could easily taste alot better if the chicken itself didnt have a strange after-taste. We chose the meal to be 'mild' in spice level and hence the taste-buds could soak a little more than the fierceness of spices, so we could really tell the chicken wasnt too fresh. Rest I didnt 'dis-like' as such. Fair Deal! The Peri Peri wrap, however, broke my heart as I cut it in half for us to share, I couldnt handle it since it was so runny. The sauces were oozing out from everywhere making the tortilla bread moist and therefore, breaking. The chicken chunks in it were good, tasted alot better than the chicken piece but i would like to recommend here, plz put less sauces or atleast the consistency of the sauce could be a little thicker to make it stay within the bread. I wish I could grab the wrap once and take a bite properly to really make-out its taste. Just a suggestion, no offence intended :) I would like to go once again after sometime, to give my final verdict, because Im sure they do have the potential to please us Lahoriz. Oh the Prices, not bad! Best Of Luck to the team Barcelos! :)))

Likes - 2 Comments 4 years 10 months ago
  • Zaheer017_8426

    Tried today , relly yummy

    4 years 10 months ago
  • NBg

    Um glad u liked! :)

    4 years 10 months ago
NBg Posted a Review of The Cafe Upstairs
7.5

Tea-Time Treat!

Before we girls could head for some shopping spree, the urge for some evening delight worked as a speed-breaker during our ride and I had to munch on something to charge my aesthetics!!! Café Upstairs was highly recommended at the time and I instantly thought of the “Tea-Time Deal” by Tossdown for their Khaba Card holders, so yes, I had to try that too. Though it wasn’t my first visit here but I loved the place even more this time around, since it was half an hour before sunset and the glass-front of the floor gave a pleasant sight and a happy feel to the place. I particular like it since its never too crowded and one can relax and chit chat comfortably! Anyways, I directly asked the Order-taker about the Khaba Tea-Time Deal and what it offers. So here goes the details for all my fellow-foodies who don’t know yet…. => One Pizza OR Sandwich OR Fish n Chips + 2 Drinks (Cold- Soft Drinks, Hot- Tea/ Coffee i.e. Cappuccino or Americano) + Brownie in Rs. 695 tax included !!! Cool eh?!!! :) We chose Fish n Chips, Cappuccino, Coke and Brownie from the deal. I felt it was enough for two girls who had late lunch and for all the heavy eaters, you might have to order additional!!!! :P Shortly after, we were served the order and OMG! Their fried fish is AMAZING with their yummy tartar sauce! I had it the second time and its just the best one I believe. Very nice crunchy coat to an extremely tender and succulent fish. MUST TRY! Cappuccino was nice too. Brownie served after a lil while, looked tempting but dint taste too great really. But just OK! Overall, it’s a good deal for the price. We can always add our desired menu items and pay accordingly in addition to the Khaba card offering :) Go ahead foodies, explore!

Likes - 2 Comments 6 years 7 months ago
  • NBg

    the rating was 7.5 actually :/

    6 years 7 months ago
  • umerhayat

    Click edit and save (without changing anything) .. works for me :P

    6 years 7 months ago
NBg Posted a Review of Assaraya Turkish Restaurant
9.0

Luscious in its Simplicity

Everyone living in Riyadh, no matter what nationality or age, is undoubtedly familiar with the very famous, Turkish Assaraya Restaurant, which has been serving up for decades now and probably never met a period of stagnation since then. The traffic clogged on the Thalateen Street, Olaya, is where the restaurant is located ? Simple! Their interior has been going through a constant up-lift since the first time I went there as a kid and over twenty years it has emerged as an elegant, well-kept place while maintaining the homey aura with dining compartments greeting through the graceful drapery, lit beautifully with small chandeliers brightening-up the long dining tables. However dining areas are a little congested to move around. I’m particularly fond of their naturalistic rockeries made at several places on both the floors. Pleasant! Also, the idea of having a TV hall for kids is commendable! The little-ones hence are attracted to one particular area having the colorful kids’ furniture, bean-bags, cartoon images on walls & non-stop cartoon films- keeping them from being a nuisance around the restaurant. Now if I only restrict myself to the last happenstance which followed by a hectic shopping spree, late at night, it was yet another nostalgic one! The manager welcomed us himself warmly and directed to the suitable compartment for a single family. The order-taker followed right after with menu books. Jumping to order immediately, being very very hungry, we ordered their Mixed Grilled Platter for the family, Mixed Salad, a Shawerma platter, a separate Hummus with Meat and Saudi Champagnes. The Mixed Salad plate along with their trademark bread was served soon after. Now I would like to assure that Assaraya Turkish has the BEST tasting salad platter since their Baba Ghanoush(smoked egg-plant cold speciality) is what no other place serves better. I can say that safely since I did try it at a dozen other similar restaurants over yrs. Just the right tang, minimal olive oil, hint of garlic and fresh tomatoes etc. MY FAV! Tabouleh (fresh parsley and wheat grains salad)-refreshing! Mutabbal (also egg-plant based,with yogurt) delicious! Hummus as always, veryyy nice..specially the one served with meat, we were skeptical ordering, turned-out excellent! I stuffed myself with salad and bread, but I did NOT regret, I totally loved it! The sight of “All Meat Platter” however pulled my attention as soon as it was placed on the table. Everything from the Meat Kabobs, Chops, Boneless Chicken pieces, Beef Pieces, looked succulent due to the hot fresh greasy glaze on every piece. With meat I always prefer the thin slices of pita bread lying in the base of this dish since it contains all the flavors dripping down to it. I must say, flawlessly grilled meat!!!! Super fresh, juicy, flavorsome, specially the chops. Excellent marination of chicken n beef both. Great stuff! The Shawerma platter was ofcourse yummy! As good as their shawermaz we can get on-the-go from their take-away area. Very tasty! Now with this rich meal, Saudi Champagne is what does justice to us. Revitalizes blissfully, to say the least! It’s actually the Apple Cider with seasonal fruits dipped in it, each adding its individual flavor to it along with some mint for that special zest! Gosh! I miss… So now with all the details I wrote, I realize how filling and healthy the meal actually is, almost everything grilled and fresh, yet totally appetizing. With so much to nibble upon, this place is light on the pocket too. Very reasonable comparatively! My all-time favorite and a MUST-TRY for every Riyadh-ian!

Likes - 0 Comments 6 years 7 months ago
NBg Posted a Review of Mei Kong
5.5

Me No Kong :(

I'd quickly say out my heart here. Just recently at a cousinz place, they decided to get some Chinese food for dinner. Mei Kong being nearest was chosen for take away, since nobody was willing to really go out. With not much of a delay, the food was at home, served immediately! Since, it was after a decade or so that I was going to try their Chinese, i was really looking forward. I have some really fond memories of this place before it was relaunched as a bigger restaurant with a variety of cuisines (earlier only being Chinese) and since then somehow I never happened to visit. Skeptical, hence I was now. Started off with Mei Kong Special Soup and I was soo disappointed instantly! I believe they forgot to put salt or probably it was just too minimal making it barely edible. That anyways could me adjusted to taste and I did so but what could be done with the super chewy and crunchy prawns in it???!!!! For a moment I hesitated chewing on it the second time being afraid if it really was a prawn! Seemed like some slimy mini sea-shell! It made that 'crichhh crichh' sound :P I had to put my favorite part of Chinese cuisine aside! Alot more cynically i then took a spoon-full of Egg fried rice with Chicken Manchurian on the side, little Chowmein which btw looked lovely, and some Beef Chilli dry. The rice were ok, JUST ok! Manchurian was so unimpressive in taste as well as the way it looked - orangish! The chicken in it was tender and nice but the dish overall was below average. Beef Chilli Dry was a disaster! Very chewy dry chunks almost coal-black!!! ermmm lemme put it my way "sookhi sarhi teekhi botiyan" and last but not the least, Chowmein was the only edible thing on the table. Fresh, colorful with lovely veges, super tender and juicy chicken junks. Good! But ofcourse I couldnt stuff myself alone with it since everyone had to share and compromise on the single palatable dish on the table *sigh* I wish I never tried Mei Kong again, since it remained in my sweet old good-book for yrs and now it's sad to erase!

Likes - 5 Comments 6 years 7 months ago
  • rasikh

    well i ve not been upto much dining out...more is ordering at home...but they r like routine pizzaz n stuff nothing special to write about them...but soon will be back with reviews Inshallah...and i asked OB if he could make a limitation that a review has to be minimum 200 words..atleast i wont have to read these sickening reviews..4 liners...with no food details .....it makes me angry ...i am not a master chef but still know a little about food and i ve learnt from various sites how to write a review...ppl think that they dined out that makes them eligible to write ..write fellows write as we all love to read and see and eat food but write...i mean what are these reviews????????? good dining ..its was bad this time...the service was not good...they discuss everything but food...........

    6 years 7 months ago
  • dazzling_s

    Ohhhooo!!! This was one old place with good chinese food!!! Seems it has gone down too! Sad!! v.v.Sad!!

    6 years 7 months ago
  • NBg

    yes had very good chinese food. I wud still give it aa try sometime in winters.. i believe chinese shudnt b taken away or delivered home.. fresh n hot wud taste alot better.

    6 years 7 months ago
Showing 1-10 of 26